Skip to main content

Library / Blackboard Integration: Best Practices for Linking

Linking to Articles from Library Databases

When making an article available within Blackboard, it is best, whenever possible, to provide a link to the article from the library's databases, rather than uploading a PDF. Making additional copies of a work may violate Fair Use.

Follow the appropriate instructions below for linking to articles from OneSearch, JSTOR, EBSCO, and Proquest databases.

Linking to Articles in JSTOR

To add a direct link to an article from JSTOR into Blackboard you will need your campus’s proxy server URL and the stable URL of the article from JSTOR.

  • Proxy Server URL
  • Stable URL from JSTOR

Step 1. To find your campus’s proxy server URL go to: http://support.cunylibraries.org/libraries/proxy-servers

cuny proxies

Step 2. To find the stable URL from JSTOR, locate the JSTOR article. Above the article under the bibliographic information it should be listed. It will look like this:

jstor permalink

Once you have these two URL’s you will put them together with no spaces and then place that continuous link in BB as the full text link to the article.

PROXY URL                                                 STABLE URL

[https://lib01.bcc.cuny.edu/login?url=][http://www.jstor.org/stable/1568713]

Example link for BB:

https://lib01.bcc.cuny.edu/login?url=http://www.jstor.org/stable/1568713

NOTE! The proxy URL used in this example is the proxy for Bronx Community College. If you are not affiliated with Bronx Community College go back to Step 1. and find your college’s proxy link from the OLS help page.

BB has a space where you may “Build Content.” This list has “Web Link” as a content option. If you would like to add a direct link to JSTOR to BB, using the “Build Content” – “Web Link” option may work for you. The form is pictured below:

bb web link

Linking to Articles in Proquest Databases

To add a direct link to an article from one of the Proquest databases in Blackboard you will need the Document URL for the article.  The Document URL is located at the very bottom of the record for that article - below the HTML full-text if it's available.  Copy and paste the Document URL into your Blackboard course site.

Linking to Articles in OneSearch

In order to link to an item from OneSearch you will need:

  • the permalink (a stable URL) for each item

Permalinks generated by OneSearch automatically ensure that all links you create will be routed through the Library's proxy server to permit off-campus access by your students.

  1. When looking at an item record in OneSearch, click on the More options tab below the citation.

       2. Click on Share.

      3. Click on Permalink.

        4. Copy Permalink URL.

         5. Paste Permalink URL into Blackboard Course site.

 

Linking to Articles in EBSCO Databases

To add a direct link to an article from one of the EBSCO databases into Blackboard you will need to locate the Permalink for the article.

Step 1. To find the Permalink from EBSCO, locate the EBSCO article. Beside the article you will see a list of output options under Tools (Print, Email, Save, etc). Click on the Permalink option.

Step 2.  The Permalink will appear at the top of the article.  Cut and paste this URL into your BB site.  The URL automatically includes your school’s EZ Proxy prefix, so that users are prompted to authenticate when accessing the article.