Skip to main content

CUNY LIBRARIES ARE OPEN ONLINE! We are open online for reference & instruction. E-resources are fully available. Library buildings remain closed.

Support Students Impacted by Coronavirus Crisis Donate Now

Best Practices in Accessibility for Purchasing and Marketing E-Resources: Vendor Accessibility Statements

Credo Reference

Credo Reference provides navigational aids and an accessibility statement.

"It is a priority for Credo that our system is accessible to all types of users, and we have designed Credo Online Reference Service to be used by people with disabilities.Credo is committed to compliance with disability aids, such as screen readers. Specific elements have been put in place to aid visually-impaired users:

  • Credo Online Reference Service has hyperlinks specifically placed to enable users with screen readers to skip common navigation elements of our pages and jump to a page's main content (visible only to Screenreader tools)
  • We've created a narrative sitemap that describes pages within Credo Online Reference Service to users who cannot see them
  • The Credo Online Reference Service platform provides text equivalents for images, charts and graphs."

Ebrary

Ebrary has provided navigation aids and an accessibility statement .FYI- Business Expert Press uses Ebrary's interface. Ebrary will eventually be phased out and becomes ProQuest Central Ebooks.

"All ebrary products and services are now substantially compliant with the world’s major accessibility standards, including Section 508(C) in the U.S. and the W3C WCAG 2.0 Level AA international standard." 

EBSCO

EBSCO has provided navigation aids to it's eBook and Audiobook collections. In general, Adobe Acrobat needs to be configured for screen reader accessibility. "For low-vision and blind users using JAWS screen reader software, accessing eBooks and Audiobooks on EBSCOhost requires JAWS version 12 in combination with Firefox web browser, to support ARIA (Accessible Rich Internet Applications) standards." All other EBSCO interface accessibility requirements are also listed.

Eighteen Century Collections Online (ECCO)

Information about accessibility cannot be found on the vendor's website as of 3/3/16. In general, as an image-based (as compared to text-based) database, ECCO is not fully ADA-compliant. Page images may be downloaded as PDF images but the user or Office of Disability Services would need to convert the pdf to an accessible, ocr'ed document.

IEEE

IEEE has provided an accessibility statement and a  navigation aid for IEEE Xplore.

"The IEEE is committed to making the IEEE Xplore website accessible to all of our customers.The present accessibility compliance status of IEEE Xplore is as follows:

  • IEEE Xplore meets basic accessibility standards for the visually impaired
  • IEEE is actively engaged in ensuring accessibility on all sites
  • Any parts of IEEE Xplore or sub sites that do not meet accessibility standards can be brought to our attention via email to onlinesupport@ieee.org."

JSTOR

JSTOR has provided an accessibility statement.

"It is a priority for JSTOR to ensure that our website and the content we archive is available and accessible to all of our users.The website is designed with ease of navigation in mind, either with or without the use of a pointing device. We regularly use automated checks and conduct tests with users to evaluate and measure the accessibility of the site. JSTOR has made every effort to ensure that our image-based PDF files are accessible and can be read with screen readers like JAWS. These files are tagged at a high level using an automated process. While this method is not exact, it dramatically increases the accessibility of the files as compared to an untagged version."

Kanopy

Kanopy has provided an accessibility statement with navigation aids.

"Kanopy is fully committed to making our own websites usable by all people, whatever their abilities or disabilities. Our filmmakers share important messages in their videos that we want viewed by as many people as possible."

LearnTechLib (Formerly EditLib)

LearnTechLib has provided an accessibility statement.

"It is the goal of this website to be 100% accessible when possible. Some of our content contains audio, video, or images which are not accessible to the visually or hearing impaired. However, all abstracts as well as full-text content is made available in accessible formats. A VPAT is available on request. Please contact info@learntechlib.org if you have any questions about accessibility."

Nineteenth Century Collections Online (NCCO)

Information about compliance with accessibility guidelines could not be located on the vendor's website as of 3/3/16. Please email the vendor with regards to ADA compliance. Most books and documents opens in html, which would be readable with a screen reader. 

Oxford

Oxford's English Dictionary has an accessibility statement and navigation aids.

"Wherever possible, OED Online meets Conformance level A (Priority 2) of the World Wide Web Consortium's Web Accessibility Initiative (WAI). We have tried to avoid the use of non-W3C formats, and have run Bobby validation for Priority 2 accessibility. Where we have not been able to make a particular feature more accessible, we have tried to ensure that it degrades gracefully. Please contact us if you believe barriers remain."

SAGE

Information about compliance with accessibility guidelines could not be located on the vendor's website as of 3/3/16.  Please email the vendor for ADA compliance.