Library Guides: Ethnic Studies Resources at CUNY: Latin American, Caribbean, and Latina/o/x Studies resources

Caribbean Research Center

Caribbean Research Center
The Caribbean Research Center at Medgar Evers College is an academic unit that contributes research on the experiences of members of the Caribbean diaspora and Caribbean Americans in New York City as well as broader Caribbean and diasporic communities around the world. The Center studies social, economic, political, and cultural dimensions of Caribbean communities.

Contact: Caribbean Research Center, crc@mec.cuny.edu

Casa de las Américas

Casa de las Américas
Casa de las Américas empowers Latinx students at LaGuardia Community College by facilitating meaningful academic and professional experiences such as research assistantships and internships. Through partnerships with local organizations, La Casa builds a network of Latinx students and scholars to uplift the community and create opportunities for educational and professional advancement.

Contact: Casa de las Américas

Address: CUNY LaGuardia Community College, 31-10 Thomson Ave, M-Building, M-141, Long Island City, NY 11101
Email: casa@lagcc.cuny.edu
Phone: 718-482-5995
Access Hours: La Casa hours are Monday–Friday, 9:00 A.M.–5:00 P.M.

Center for Latin American, Caribbean, and Latino Studies (CLACLS)

Center for Latin American, Caribbean, and Latino Studies (CLACLS)
The Center for Latin American, Caribbean, and Latino Studies at the CUNY Graduate Center encourages research on and engagement with Latin American and Caribbean people as well as diasporic communities in the United States, with particular attention to those in New York City. The organization’s Latino Data Project generates and makes available to the public reports on demographic and socioeconomic characteristics of the experience of Latinos in the United States.
Latino Data Project

Contact: Center for Latin American, Latino and Caribbean Studies

Address: CUNY Graduate Center, 365 5th Ave, Room 5419, New York, NY 10016
Email: clacls@gc.cuny.edu

Center for Puerto Rican Studies (CENTRO)

Center for Puerto Rican Studies (CENTRO)
CENTRO at Hunter College is the most extensive university institute, library, and archive devoted to recording, preserving, and telling the story of Puerto Ricans in the United States. The Library collection includes both primary and secondary sources, and consists of over 14,000 books, 2,550 dissertations and theses, 3,700 reels of microfilm that represent over 500 periodicals, 600 audio recordings, 514 visual recordings, and 21.3 linear feet of vertical files. The Archives of the Puerto Rican Diaspora comprises over 300 collections of personal papers belonging to notable Puerto Ricans as well as documents from community and government organizations. An ongoing initiative has so far resulted in the digitization of 32,000 materials from the holdings of the Archives, including photographs, written documents, multimedia recordings, and artworks.

Contact: CENTRO Main Office

Address: 695 Park Ave, Room E1429, New York, NY 10065
Email: centro@hunter.cuny.edu
Phone: 212-772-5688

Contact: CENTRO Library & Archives

Address: Silberman School of Social Work, 2180 3rd Ave, 1st Fl, Rm 120, New York, NY 10035
Email: centro.library@hunter.cuny.edu
Phone: 212-396-7874

Access: CENTRO Library & Archives are open to the public by appointment.

Hours: Monday–Friday: 10:00 A.M.–5:00 P.M
Materials are noncirculating, with the exception of the film collection and newspapers on microfilm; to request, email centro.library@hunter.cuny.edu

Center on Latinx Rights and Equality (CLRE)

Center on Latinx Rights and Equality (CLRE)
CUNY Law School's Center on Latinx Rights and Equality (formerly the Center on Latino and Latina Rights and Equality [CLORE]) was the first unit of its kind hosted at a law school. CLRE identifies progressive policy stances that reform the legal system of the United States to extend legal protections and civil liberties in areas that impact the Latinx population. The Center has developed an extensive special collection (and a correspondent bibliography) at the CUNY School of Law Library to serve the needs of researchers, lawyers, and scholars in pursuit of legal equity.
Center's correspondent bibliography

Contact: Jenny Rivera, Professor and Director

Email: rivera@mail.law.cuny.edu
Phone: 718-340-4304

CUNY Dominican Studies Institute (CUNY DSI)

CUNY Dominican Studies Institute (CUNY DSI)
The CUNY DSI Archives and Library at CCNY is the first and only repository outside of the Dominican Republic whose sole focus is the preservation, dissemination and accessibility of resources pertaining to the lives and experiences of Dominican people. Encompassing primary and secondary sources, the Dominican Library provides access to books, doctoral and master’s degree dissertations, newspaper clippings and journal articles, and multimedia resources. The primary source materials in the Dominican Archives constitute a rich record of the history of Dominican people in the United States. The CUNY DSI Archives and Library also creates and provides access to digital resources that support pedagogical and scholarly aims related to the study of Dominican people and its history.

Contact: CUNY Dominican Studies Institute Archives and Library

Sarah Aponte, Professor and Chief Librarian, aponte@ccny.cuny.edu
Jhensen Ortiz, Librarian, jortiz2@ccny.cuny.edu
Jessy Perez, Archivist, jperez2@ccny.cuny.edu
General Archives inquiries (email): dsiarchives@ccny.cuny.edu

Access: CUNY Dominican Studies Institute Archives and Library is a noncirculating reference library open to the public.

Hours: Monday–Friday, 10:00 A.M.–6:00 P.M.

CUNY Haitian Studies Institute (CUNY HSI)

CUNY Haitian Studies Institute (CUNY HSI)
The CUNY Haitian Studies Institute at Brooklyn College is an interdisciplinary organization that facilitates research about Haiti and Haitians, with emphasis on policies that affect the Haitian community and connect scholarship to the experiences of Haitians. The CUNY HSI provides a forum for scholarly and community collaboration, and its resources include the Bilingual English and Haitian Creole Glossary of Immigration Terms/Glosè Imigrasyon Angle-Kreyòl, a document created to support Haitian immigrants seeking information as well as immigration assistance providers. The HSI Archives are currently under development by inaugural archivist Obden Mondésir.
Bilingual English and Haitian Creole Glossary of Immigration Terms/Glosè Imigrasyon Angle-Kreyòl
Inaugural archivist Obden Mondésir

Contact: CUNY Haitian Studies Institute

Address: Brooklyn College, 2900 Bedford Ave,1108 Boylan Hall, Brooklyn, NY 11210
Email: hsi@brooklyn.cuny.edu
Phone: 718-951-5000, exts. 5187, 1413, or 1496

Contact: Obden Mondésir, HSI Archivist

Email: obden.mondesir@brooklyn.cuny.edu
Phone: 718-951-5000, ext. 2123

Access HSI Circulating collection via CUNY Onesearch

CUNY Mexican Studies Institute (CUNY MSI)

CUNY Mexican Studies Institute (CUNY MSI)
Based at Lehman College, the CUNY MSI explores the Mexican American experience and aims to heighten the visibility and recognize the impact of the Mexican community in the United States. Initiatives and resources advance research, further educational endeavors, and develop community partnerships to serve Mexican Americans in New York. The Mexican Studies Archives and Library (MSAL) provides a devoted space for and access to a collection that documents the history of the Mexican community in the United States, with particular attention to Mexican Americans in New York. The collection is primarily sourced from donations by the Centro de Investigaciones y Estudios Superiores en Antropología Social (CIESAS), El Centro de Investigaciones Interdisciplinarias en Ciencias y Humanidades (CEIICH-UNAM), and private donors.
Mexican Studies Archives and Library (MSAL)

Contact: CUNY Mexican Studies Institute

Address: Lehman College, 250 Bedford Park Blvd W, Carman Hall, Room 241, Bronx, NY 10468-1589
Email: mexican.studies@lehman.cuny.edu
Phone: 718-960-4080

Access: CUNY Mexican Studies Archives and Library is open to the public from Monday–Friday, 10:00 A.M.–5:00 P.M.

Latin American Writers Institute (LAWI)

Latin American Writers Institute (LAWI)
The Latin American Writers Institute at Hostos Community College champions the literary output of Latin America and seeks to bring Latin American writing to a wider audience. The organization disseminates literary work by Latin American writers through its multilingual journal, Hostos Review/Revista Hostosiana. LAWI also fosters connections between writers from Latin American, Spain, and the United States by hosting creative writing seminars, festivals, and other literary events.

Contact: Latin American Writers Institute, lawi@hostos.cuny.edu

Contact: Inmaculada Lara-Bonilla, Professor and Director/Chief Editor of Hostos Review/Revista Hostosiana

Address: Eugenio María de Hostos Community College, 500 Grand Concourse, Humanities Dept, C-411H, Bronx, New York 10451
Email: ilarabonilla@hostos.cuny.edu
Phone: 718-518-6881