|
|
Caribbean Research CenterThe Caribbean Research Center at Medgar Evers College is an academic unit that contributes research on the experiences of members of the Caribbean diaspora and Caribbean Americans in New York City as well as broader Caribbean and diasporic communities around the world. The Center studies social, economic, political, and cultural dimensions of Caribbean communities. Contact: Caribbean Research Center, crc@mec.cuny.edu |
|
|
Center for Latin American, Caribbean, and Latino Studies (CLACLS)The Center for Latin American, Caribbean, and Latino Studies encourages research on and engagement with Latin American and Caribbean people as well as diasporic communities in the United States, with particular attention to those in New York City. The organization’s Latino Data Project generates and makes available to the public reports on demographic and socioeconomic characteristics of the experience of Latinos in the United States. Contact: Center for Latin American, Latino and Caribbean Studies
|
|
|
Center for Puerto Rican Studies (CENTRO)CENTRO is the most extensive university institute, library, and archive devoted to recording, preserving, and telling the story of Puerto Ricans in the United States. The Library collection includes both primary and secondary sources, and consists of over 14,000 books, 2,550 dissertations and theses, 3,700 reels of microfilm that represent over 500 periodicals, 600 audio recordings, 514 visual recordings, and 21.3 linear feet of vertical files. The Archives of the Puerto Rican Diaspora comprises over 300 collections of personal papers belonging to notable Puerto Ricans as well as documents from community and government organizations. An ongoing initiative has so far resulted in the digitization of 32,000 materials from the holdings of the Archives, including photographs, written documents, multimedia recordings, and artworks. Contact: CENTRO Main Office
Contact: CENTRO Library & Archives
Access: CENTRO Library & Archives are open to the public by appointment.
|
|
|
CUNY Dominican Studies Institute (CUNY DSI)The CUNY DSI Archives and Library at CCNY is the first and only repository outside of the Dominican Republic whose sole focus is the preservation, dissemination and accessibility of resources pertaining to the lives and experiences of Dominican people. Encompassing primary and secondary sources, the Dominican Library provides access to books, doctoral and master’s degree dissertations, newspaper clippings and journal articles, and multimedia resources. The primary source materials in the Dominican Archives constitute a rich record of the history of Dominican people in the United States. The CUNY DSI Archives and Library also creates and provides access to digital resources that support pedagogical and scholarly aims related to the study of Dominican people and its history. Contact: CUNY Dominican Studies Institute Archives and Library
Access: CUNY Dominican Studies Institute Archives and Library is a noncirculating reference library open to the public.
|
|
|
CUNY Haitian Studies Institute (CUNY HSI)The CUNY Haitian Studies Institute at Brooklyn College is an interdisciplinary organization that facilitates research about Haiti and Haitians, with emphasis on policies that affect the Haitian community and connect scholarship to the experiences of Haitians. The CUNY HSI provides a forum for scholarly and community collaboration, and its resources include the Bilingual English and Haitian Creole Glossary of Immigration Terms/Glosè Imigrasyon Angle-Kreyòl, a document created to support Haitian immigrants seeking information as well as immigration assistance providers. The HSI Archives are currently under development by inaugural archivist Obden Mondésir. Contact: CUNY Haitian Studies Institute
Contact: Obden Mondésir, HSI Archivist
Access: Circulating collection accessible via Brooklyn College Library. |
|
|
Institute for Research on the African Diaspora in the Americas and the Caribbean (IRADAC)The Institute for Research on the African Diaspora in the Americas and the Caribbean (IRADAC) expands both the depth and breadth of knowledge and scholarship around people of the African diaspora around the world. The Institute cultivates a community of academics at the CUNY Graduate Center; provides fellowships, including an opportunity at the Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture; and organizes public events. Contact: Institute for Research on the African Diaspora in the Americas and the Caribbean
Contact: Herman Bennett, Distinguished Professor and Director
Contact: Zee Dempster, Assistant Coordinator (Africana Studies) and Assistant Director
|
Some documents on this site require Adobe Acrobat Reader. You can download Acrobat Reader for free.
Office of Library Services | CUNY Accessibility | Contact Us