Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

CUNY LIBRARIES ARE OPEN both ONLINE and on campus! We are open online for reference & instruction. E-resources are fully available. CUNY Libraries physical spaces are also open for quiet study, computers and wifi, materials pickup, and more. Please note that library plans are subject to change based on the evolving pandemic situation and plans at each campus. At this time, due to the pandemic, campus access (including libraries) may be restricted to each campus’ current students, faculty and staff. Some libraries require reservations. Please check our College Libraries page for details about the library you plan to visit.

Support Students Impacted by Coronavirus Crisis Donate Now

CUNY libraries statistics 2018-2019 (archive)

ACRL Library Collections

Library Collections

See ACRL instructions (pp. 9-14)

Question Explanation

40 Books [title count] (column A physical)

Use Table 1. This is a print title count.

40 Books [title count] (column B digital/electronic)

Use Table 2. This is an e-book title count.  

40a Books [volume count] (column A physical)

Use Table 3. This is a volume count.  Add to this number a count of any volumes, including bound serials, that do not have an item record.

41 Databases (column B digital/electronic)

Count CUNY and locally licensed databases, both bibliographic and full text, on your A-Z list.

  • Include e-book collections
  • Include NOVELNYdatabases.
  • Include databases of open access book and journals if you link to them on your AZ list and they are discoverable through OneSearch (e.g.Directory of Open Access Journals, PLoS)

DO NOT include individual titles such as the NYTimes digital or the Chronicle of Higher Education; count those as part of 43B.

42a Media (column A physical)

Use Table 4, physical media, which now includes non-serial microforms.

Include maps here.

42b Media (column B digital/electronic)

Table 5 is NOT a complete list. It includes links to vendor websites which list  title counts for streaming media collections. If yours isn't listed, please reach out to the vendor.

Sum up title counts for collections your campus subscribes to, found on the ERAC survey. 

  • Only include titles that have been purchased or leased by the library. 
  • Do not include full title count for Kanopy or other PDA/DDA collections--only count titles for which a lease has been triggered.
  • For audio collections, do not count tracks, count titles only.
43a Serials titles (column A physical)

Use Table 6, which reflects serial titles, including microforms and a count of ceased titles. 

43b Serials titles (column B digital/electronic)

Use Table 7, a report generated by OLS using SFX data. The count includes open access titles searchable through OneSearch. Add  individual electronic titles that are not part of your SFX holdings.

44 Total (physical)  Calculated sum of 40, 42 & 43

44 Total (electronic)  Calculated sum of 40, 41, 42 & 43

45 External Contributions from Consortia/Networks  Report your campus total reported on the report found on the External Expenditures Tab

Total print monograph bib records in Aleph (title count) to answer ACRL Q40 physical

These numbers were compiled using the following CCL in Aleph: 

wow=xx and wfm=(bk or mu) not wpd=(c or h) not wfs=m not wst=suppressed or circ [title count]

 
College Number of records
CUNY-wide records (AL) n/a
Baruch (BB) 285,787
Brooklyn (BC) 685,354
BMCC (BM) 90,166
Bronx (BX) 65,841
CITY (CC) + DSI (DS) + SPH (PH) 739,982
CUNY LAW (CL) 24,096 
Graduate Center (GC) 213,017 
Journalism (GJ) 3,480 
Hostos (HO) 53,641 
Hunter (HC) + Centro (CP) 441,441 
John Jay (JJ) 183,341 
Kingsborough (KB) 157,251 
Lehman (LE) 308,538 
LaGuardia (LG) 88,566 
Medgar Evers (ME) 99,206
Guttman (NC) 2.093
City Tech (NY) 104,372
Queensborough (QB) 111,183
Queens (QC) 636,993
CSI (SI) 175,735
York (YC) 148,706
 

Searches run: 7/5/19

SFX report run by OLS, includes   centrally provided (AL) e-books.   ACRL Q40 electronic.

College Ebooks
Baruch  793,399
BC  751,897
BMCC  704,030
Bronx CC  710,007
City + DSI+ SPH 944,121
Law 860,513
Grad 976,781
Journalism 683,092
Hostos 697,942
Hunter and Centro 868,325
John Jay 987,677
Kingsborough 685,952
Lehman 842,992
LaGuardia 775,784
Medgar 687,304
Guttman 682,559
City Tech 689,002
Queensborough 722,497
Queens  710,396 
CSI 696,392
York 731,036

Report complete Feb. 2020

 

Total print items records in Aleph (items count)

Aleph report physical_type_count: items for each campus with material type BOOK, ISSBD, MANUS, SCO.  Add to this number a count of any serial volumes that do not have an item record. This is your answer for ACRL Q40a

Baruch 322,154
BMCC 112,155
Bronx 76,191
Brooklyn 871,881
City + Public Health 748,903
City Tech 126,180
Grad 256,218
Guttman 2,832
Hostos 60,728
Hunter and Centro 533,865
John Jay  216,416
Journalism 3,782
Kingsborough 187,898
LaGuardia 97,976
Law 29,181
Lehman 378,426
Medgar 121,609
Queensborough 123,692
Queens 745,844
Staten Island 200,885
York 161,552

Collection Items Count (Physical)

Report Date: July 2019

NOTE: All active physical items, not including electronic resources. Excluded item statuses: CA, CL, CN, EB, ER, LO, LP, MI, MT, NA, NP, NR, OR, OI, ON, RP, SE, SU, WD.

Physical Media bib counts (includes microforms)

College

Physical Media

 

Non-Serial

Microforms

  

Microform collection codes

Total

(report this number for Q42a )

Baruch (BB) 3177 7163 FILM 10,340
Brooklyn (BC) 22,681 31,104 MF; FMP; MICRO; MFC; MFI    53,758
BMCC (BM) 2,251 NA? 2,251
Bronx CC (BX) 2,183 5 FICHE, FILM 2,188
City + DSI + SPH (CC or DS or PH) 23,178 1590 MFILM, MICRO, DOCFC, DOCFL, DOCCH 29,088
Law (CL) 188 0 NA? 188
Grad (GC) 6,043 1,325

MICE, MIFE

RMIC,

7,368
Journalism (GJ) 80 0 NA? 80
Hostos (HO) 1994 0 NA 1994
Hunter + Centro (HC or CP) 27,254 186 MICRO (FOR EACH) 27,440
John Jay (JJ) 27,288 3973 FICH, FILM, SPMIC 31,261
Kingsborough (KB) 2,148 0 PEMIC 2,148
Lehman (LE) 3,352 445 MICRO, EDMIC 3,797
LaGuardia (LG) 4,144 0 NA 4,144
Medgar (ME) 6993 0? NA 6993
Guttman (NC) 163 0 NA 163
City Tech (NY) 4,774 8 MICRO 4,782
Queensborough (QB) 16,352 3 MICRO 16,355
Queens (QC) 47,608 37,415 DFICHE, 1RFICHE, CARD, FICHE, FILM, PFICH, PFILM, PPRIN  84,753
CSI (SI) 3406 210 MF, FICHE 3816
YORK (YC) 178 11 MICRO 189

wow=xx and wpd=(a or d or f or g or k or m or s or v) not WST=SUPPRESSED plus a count of microform based on collection codes each campus provided: 

For example: (wow=xx and wcl=mfilm or micro or docch or docfc not wfm=se not wpd=h) or (wow=xx and wpd=h not wcl=mfilm or micro or docch or docfc not wfm=se) not wst=suppressed   

[(non-serial non-microform bibs with microform holdings) + (non-serial microform bibs with non-microform holding)]

*Excludes suppressed bibs -- If you wish to include them, use the CCL search above minus the "not wst=suppressed"

*As of July 2019

Title counts for streaming some media collections listed on ERAC survey 2018-19.  Please also include streaming media collections not included here if you subscribe.

Alexander Street Press:  Download "bibliography" for each collection to get a list of titles or use the number found in the brochure etc. :A complete list of audio and video collections can be found here: http://alexanderstreet.com/AZtextlist. (Video collection only: http://alexanderstreet.com/allVideoTextLis)

DRAM:  detailed here: http://www.dramonline.org/page/collection-development

Films on Demand -- this page lists title counts for different academic collections.

Kanopy:  If using PDA/DDA, only include titles you have licensed

Naxos Music Library: 148,060-- found here: https://www.naxosmusiclibrary.com/home.asp

Serial records in Aleph: ​wow=xx and wfm=se not wpd=c not wst=suppressed

College

Print serials
Baruch (BB) 6,140
Brooklyn (BC) 18,983
BMCC (BM) 762
Bronx (BX) 551
City (CC) + DSI (DS) + SPH (PH) 22,287
Law (CL) 746
Grad (GC) 1,922
Journalism (GJ) 116
Hostos (HO) 211
Hunter (HC) + Centro (CP) 3,806
John Jay (JJ) 7,579
Kingsborough (KB) 1,720
Lehman (LE) 4,523
LaGuardia (LG) 1,168
Medgar (ME) 968
Guttman (NC) 33
City Tech (NY) 1,478
Queensborough (QB) 1,204
Queens (QC) 14,740
CSI (SI) 1,597
York (YC) 1,121

wow=xx and wfm=se not wpd=c not wst=suppressed

*Command search in Aleph 7-5-19

*Excludes suppressed bibs

*Includes serial microforms

*Count only once if title is available in both print and microforms.

E-journal count generated by OLS using SFX -- November 2019

College electronic serials
Baruch 175,414
BC 155,200
BMCC 148,497
Bronx CC 148,424
City + DSI + PH 151,427
Law 149,128
Grad 156,262
Journalism 147,285
Hostos 147,456
Hunter + Centro 150,410
John Jay 153,353
Kingsborough 148,229
Lehman 148,242
LaGuardia 148,208
Medgar 148,154
Guttman 147,223
City Tech 147,812
Queensborough 148,993
Queens  157,906 
CSI 155,600
York 161,376

 

Updated November 2019

CAMPUS

These numbers are for FY 2018-19. They answer Q45b in the ACRL survey but are NOT included in the total for library collection expenditures.

BARUCH COLLEGE
$298,222
BROOKLYN COLLEGE
$272,288
CITY COLLEGE
$251,737
HUNTER COLLEGE
$329,483
JOHN JAY COLLEGE
$238,117
LEHMAN COLLEGE
$208,529
MEDGAR EVERS COLLEGE
$127,901
NEW YORK C OF TECH
$249,251
QUEENS COLLEGE
$289,127
STATEN ISLAND COLLEGE
$219,909
YORK COLLEGE
$145,853
GRADUATE SCHOOL
$90,502

 

LAW SCHOOL
$54,736
GRAD SCHOOL OF JOUR
$49,223
PROFESSIONAL STUDIES  
BOROUGH OF MAN CC
$365,940
BRONX CC
$163,893
GUTTMAN CC
$62,126
HOSTOS CC
$128,231
KINGSBORO CC
$219,392
LAGUARDIA CC
$270,344
QUEENSBORO CC
$218,861
 

Questions?

Have a question? Other CUNY Librarians might, too! Post it to the Survey Group listserv!