CUNY libraries statistics 2023-2024

20. One-time purchase of books, serial backfiles, and other materials $

Include

• onetime purchases of published works such as print books, e-books, streaming videos, DVDs
• serial backfiles
• acquisition of access rights
• databases ONLY if NOT a subscription
• patron-driven acquisitions (actual acquisitions only, not deposit accounts )
• columns L and X from Journal Transfer report 

Do NOT include

• expenses for computer software
• subscriptions

If the total expenditure differs from last year by more than 30%, enter an explanation in the free text field.

20a. E-books (if available) $

This is a subcategory of Question 20

• Include any e-books purchased, including PDA.
• columns L and X from Journal Transfer report 
• Include e-books that have triggered through a PDA or DDA program
• Do NOT include deposit account as expenditures until the library receives access to an e-book 
• Do NOT include subscriptions to e-book packages.

If the total expenditure differs from last year by more than 30%, enter an explanation in the free text field.

21. Ongoing commitments to subscriptions $

Ongoing expenses to subscriptions in ALL formats. Include

• serials from your Ebsco invoice in print and elecronic formats
• local database expenditures (reported in ERAC survey)
• ongoing campus subscriptions to e-book packages.
• columns D-H, J-K, M-O, Q, V-W, AA-AE  from Journal Transfer report 
• index and abstract databases, as well as full-text.
• yearly access or hosting fees
• government documents if they are accessible through the catalog. 
• Kanopy triggers for leases here if you are using their PDA program

If the total expenditure differs from last year by more than 30%, enter an explanation in the free text field.

21a. E-books (if available) $

(this is a subcategory of 21)

Only fill this in if you can identify these expenses separately. This number is not used to calculate q23Total materials/services expenses.  Do include:

• ongoing campus subscriptions to campus ebook packages

If the total expenditure differs from last year by more than 30%, enter an explanation in the free text field.

21b. E-journals (if available) $

(this is a subcategory of 21)

Only fill this in if you can identify these expenses separately. This number is not used to calculate q23.  Total materials/services expenses.   Include:

• columns D-H, J-K, M-O, Q, V-W, AA-AD  from Journal Transfer report 
• e-journals and e-serials from your Ebsco invoice
• local database expenditures (reported in ERAC survey)
• databases that are primarily comprised of e-journals

If the total expenditure differs from last year by more than 30%, enter an explanation in the free text field.

Include serial/service costs not already reported.  Examples: 

• Document delivery/ILL costs, including shipping and replacement costs;
  • If interlibrary loan (ILL) is included as an expense with bibliographic utilities (OCLC), but the costs cannot be separated out, include those costs only with the bibliographic utility expenses in question 25.
• Short Term loans for e-books;
• PDA/DDA deposit account funds that have not triggered a purchase;
• copyright fees;
• any other expenses for information resources;
• bibliographic management services (i.e. EndNote – if from the library budget)
• Libguides add-ons (LibAnswers, LibCal, etc.)
• Do not include Refworks.

If the total expenditure differs from last year by more than 30%, enter an explanation in the free text field.

Include binding costs

And any special collections costs for preservation such as:

• de-acidification
• lamination
• restoration
• Include digitization expenses
• Jstor Forum and Archives Space--refer to columns P and U on the Journal Transfer report if you are a campus that paid via a journal transfer, for AY2023.

If the total expenditure differs from last year by more than 30%, enter an explanation in the free text field.

Everything not already reported. E.g.

• office supplies
• computer hardware and software from library budget
• bibliographic utilities (OCLC), networks and consortia
• Metro membership fees. (Hunter--see journal transfers tab to include column S of the Journal transfer report for Empire Delivery).
• ExLibris Primo cost--column I from the Journal Transfer report.
• Browzine--column R  from the Journal Transfer report. 
• Professional development / travel expenses paid for by library
• Do not report OLS expenses on behalf of the campuses here; ACRL are not asking for this in AY2023 survey.

If the total expenditure differs from last year by more than 30%, enter an explanation in the free text field.