Library Guides: CUNY libraries statistics 2023-2024: ACRL: Library Collections (40-44)

ACRL Library Collections

Library Collections

Question	Explanation
40A Physical Books (Title Count)	This is a print title count. Report physical book titles owned or leased by the library if individual titles are cataloged and/or searchable through the library catalog or discovery system. Exclude serials, microforms, maps, nonprint materials, and uncatalogued items. Watch this video to help you navigate to this report in Alma Analytics Path in Alma analytics. Location/Shared Folders /Community /Reports/Consortia/CUNY/ACRL IPEDS AL The report is called: ACRL IPEDS Q40A Physical Books [title count]
40B Books- electronic	See Tab 1 for instructions for retrieving e-book titles by doing an Advanced Search in ALMA
40a Books (Volume Count)	This is a print volume count. Report the number of volumes using the ANSI/NISO Z39.7-2013 (section 4) definition for volume. See ACRL Instructions for details. Watch this video to help you navigate to this report in Alma Analytics Path in Alma analytics: Location/Shared Folders /Community /Reports/Consortia/CUNY/ACRL IPEDS AL Q40a Volume count
41B Digital/Electronic Databases	Count CUNY and locally licensed databases, both bibliographic and full text, on your A-Z list. Include e-book collections Include NOVELNYdatabases. Include databases of open access book and journals if you link to them on your AZ list and they are discoverable through OneSearch (e.g.Directory of Open Access Journals, PLoS) DO NOT include individual titles such as the NYTimes digital or the Chronicle of Higher Education; count those as part of 43B. There is not a report in CUNY's ACRL analytics folder. However, you can find reports in Alma analytics but might will want to modify them because they include multiple years of the same title -- Springer Physics and Astronomy ebooks has a line for each year 2009-2013. It is probably easier to adjust from last year's number.
42A Physical Media	Watch this video to help you navigate to this report in Alma Analytics Path in Alma analytics: Location/Shared Folders /Community /Reports/Consortia/CUNY/ACRL IPEDS AL Q42A Media - Physical
42B Digital/Electronic Media	Watch this video to help you navigate to this report in Alma Analytics Path in Alma analytics: Location/Shared Folders /Community /Reports/Consortia/CUNY/ACRL IPEDS AL Q40B Media - Digital / Electronic. -- this will include AVON and other media collections that have been turned on in your IZ In addition, Tab 2 includes title counts for different vendors whose collections may not be activated in Alma. It is NOT a complete list. It includes links to vendor websites which list title counts for streaming media collections. If yours isn't listed, please reach out to the vendor. Sum up title counts for collections your campus subscribes to, found on the ERAC survey. Only include titles that have been purchased or leased by the library. Do not include full title count for Kanopy or other PDA/DDA collections--only count titles for which a lease has been triggered. For audio collections, do not count tracks, count titles only.
43A Physical Serials	Watch this video to help you navigate to this report in Alma Analytics Path in Alma analytics: Location/Shared Folders /Community /Reports/Consortia/CUNY/ACRL IPEDS AL Q43A Physical Serials
43B Digital/Electronic Serials	See Tab 3 for instructions to obtain digital serials with an Advanced Search in ALMA., The count includes open access titles searchable through OneSearch.
44A Total Physical Collection and 44B Total Digital/Electronic Collection	These lines will automatically be calculated for you.

Please note for FY 2023 there is no question 45. (last year they asked about external contributions but it is gone this year).

Do an an advanced search in ALMA to retrieve the number of e-books for your campus.

Search the following Resource Types: Book - Digital, Book - Electronic, Atlas Electronic, Manuscripts - Electronic, Notated music - Electronic. (Picture Below) Run the search and change the Search Scope to Combined results to display results for E-Books in the Institution Zone and the Network Zone. (Search image BELOW)

Watch this video to help you navigate the Advanced Search in ALMA.

Find your campus numbers for e-books and adjust as you wish (you will probably want to remove the Internet Archives).

Title counts for streaming media collections listed on ERAC survey 2021-22. Please also include streaming media collections not included here if you subscribe.

Alexander Street Press: Download "bibliography" for each collection to get a list of titles or use the number found in the brochure etc. :A complete list of audio and video collections can be found here: http://alexanderstreet.com/AZtextlist. (Video collection only: http://alexanderstreet.com/allVideoTextLis)

DRAM: detailed here: http://www.dramonline.org/page/collection-development

Films on Demand -- t his page lists title counts for different academic collections.

Kanopy: If using PDA/DDA, only include titles you have licensed

Naxos Music Library: 157,916-- found here: https://www.naxosmusiclibrary.com/home.asp

Do an advanced search in ALMA to retrieve the number of Digital/Electronic Serials for your campus.

Search the following Resource Types: Journal (Ceased publication) - Electronic , Journal - Digital, Journal - Electronic, Other Serial (Ceased publication), Other Serial - Electronic, Newspaper (Ceased publication). Newspaper - Electronic. (Picture Below) Run the search and change the Search Scope to Combined results to display results for Digital/Electronic Serials in the Institution Zone and the Network Zone.

Watch is video to help you navigate the Advanced Search in ALMA.

Find your campus numbers for e-journals and adjust if you wish.

Screenshot of an ALMA Advanced search screen.