Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

CUNY LIBRARIES ARE OPEN both ONLINE and on campus! We are open online for reference & instruction. E-resources are fully available. CUNY Libraries physical spaces are also open for quiet study, computers and wifi, materials pickup, and more. Please note that library plans are subject to change based on the evolving pandemic situation and plans at each campus. At this time, due to the pandemic, campus access (including libraries) may be restricted to each campus’ current students, faculty and staff. Some libraries require reservations. Please check our College Libraries page for details about the library you plan to visit.

Support Students Impacted by Coronavirus Crisis Donate Now

CUNY libraries statistics 2021-2022

ACRL Library Collections

Library Collections

See ACRL instructions (pp. 11-14)

Question Explanation

40A Books -physical (title count)

 

This is a print title count.

Watch this video to help you navigate to this report in Alma Analytics

 

Path in Alma analytics. Location/Shared Folders /Community /Reports/Consortia/CUNY/ACRL IPEDS AL

The report is called: ACRL IPEDS Q40A Physical Books [title count]

40B Books- electronic

See Tab 1 for instructions for retrieving an e-book title count using Alma Analytics.

Subtract from this total Internet Archives e-books, listed as an electronic collection.

Add NZ ebook total from tab 1 to IZ report from analytics

40a Books - physical

(volume count)

This is a print volume count.

Watch this video to help you navigate to this report in Alma Analytics

Path in Alma analytics: Location/Shared Folders /Community /Reports/Consortia/CUNY/ACRL IPEDS AL Q40a Volume count

41 Databases (column B digital/electronic)

Count CUNY and locally licensed databases, both bibliographic and full text, on your A-Z list.

  • Include e-book collections
  • Include NOVELNYdatabases.
  • Include databases of open access book and journals if you link to them on your AZ list and they are discoverable through OneSearch (e.g.Directory of Open Access Journals, PLoS)

DO NOT include individual titles such as the NYTimes digital or the Chronicle of Higher Education; count those as part of 43B.

There is not a report in CUNY's ACRL analytics folder. However, you can find reports in Alma analytics but might will want to modify them because they include multiple years of the same title -- Springer Physics and Astronomy ebooks has a line for each year 2009-2013. It is probably easier to adjust from last year's number.  

42A Media (physical)

Watch this video to help you navigate to this report in Alma Analytics

Path in Alma analytics: Location/Shared Folders /Community /Reports/Consortia/CUNY/ACRL IPEDS AL Q42A Media - Physical

42B Media  (digital/electronic)

Watch this video to help you navigate to this report in Alma Analytics

Path in Alma analytics: Location/Shared Folders /Community /Reports/Consortia/CUNY/ACRL IPEDS AL Q40B Media - Digital / Electronic. -- this will include AVON and other media collections that have been turned on in your IZ

In addition, Tab 2 includes title counts for different vendors whose collections may not be activated in Alma. It is NOT a complete list. It includes links to vendor websites which list  title counts for streaming media collections. If yours isn't listed, please reach out to the vendor.

Sum up title counts for collections your campus subscribes to, found on the ERAC survey. 

  • Only include titles that have been purchased or leased by the library. 
  • Do not include full title count for Kanopy or other PDA/DDA collections--only count titles for which a lease has been triggered.
  • For audio collections, do not count tracks, count titles only.
43A Serials Physical

Watch this video to help you navigate to this report in Alma Analytics

Path in Alma analytics: Location/Shared Folders /Community /Reports/Consortia/CUNY/ACRL IPEDS AL Q43A Physical Serials

43B Serials digital/electronic

Add NZ ej-ournal total from tab 3 to IZ report from analytics

Use See Tab 3 for instructions for retrieving an e-serials title count using Alma Analytics., The count includes open access titles searchable through OneSearch. 

45 External Contributions from Consortia/Networks 

45A  (physical) please enter -1

45B (digital electronic) Report your campus total from Tab 4 External Expenditures above.

To retrieve the number of e-books for your campus.

Open this report in Alma analytics, ACRL 40B Books - Digital/Electronic

Here is the path in Alma Analytics:

/shared/Community/Reports/Consortia/CUNY/ACRL IPEDS AL/ ACRL 40B Books - Digital/Electronic

Watch this video to help you navigate to this report in Alma Analytics

Find your campus numbers for e-books and adjust as you wish (you will probably want to remove the Internet Archives).

Next add this number to total e-books from the NZ: 688,660  (as of 12/15/21), see screen shot below to see how we got this number)

The total of your IZ e-books and the NZ e-books is your answer for Q40B Books - Digital/Electronic

Search in Alma : Electronic titles where resource type equals book digital or book electronic or or atlas electronic or notated music electronic

Title counts for streaming some media collections listed on ERAC survey 2020-21.  Please also include streaming media collections not included here if you subscribe.

Alexander Street Press:  Download "bibliography" for each collection to get a list of titles or use the number found in the brochure etc. :A complete list of audio and video collections can be found here: http://alexanderstreet.com/AZtextlist. (Video collection only: http://alexanderstreet.com/allVideoTextLis)

DRAM:  detailed here: http://www.dramonline.org/page/collection-development

Films on Demand -- this page lists title counts for different academic collections.

Kanopy:  If using PDA/DDA, only include titles you have licensed

Naxos Music Library: 157,916-- found here: https://www.naxosmusiclibrary.com/home.asp

Open this report in Alma analytics, ACRL Q43B Serials - Digital/Electronic

Here is the path in Alma Analytics:

/shared/Community/Reports/Consortia/CUNY/ACRL IPEDS AL/ ACRL Q43B Serials - Digital/Electronic

Watch this video to help you navigate to this report in Alma Analytics

Find your campus numbers for e-journals and adjust if you wish.

Next add this number to total e-journals from the NZ: 150,806 (as of 12/15/21, see screen shot below to see how we got this number)

The total of your IZ e-journals and the NZ e-journals is your answer for Q43 electronic serials/journals.

Below is a screenshot that shows how we retrieved the NZ number for all campuses: 

 

External expenditures report -- this report includes money spent by OLS on behalf of CUNY campus libraries for FY 2020-21.  Posted January 2022.

Questions?

Have a question? Other CUNY Librarians might, too! Post it to the Survey Group listserv!