Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

CUNY LIBRARIES ARE OPEN both ONLINE and on campus! We are open online for reference & instruction. E-resources are fully available. CUNY Libraries physical spaces are also open for quiet study, computers and wifi, materials pickup, and more. Please note that library plans are subject to change based on the evolving pandemic situation and plans at each campus. At this time, due to the pandemic, campus access (including libraries) may be restricted to each campus’ current students, faculty and staff. Some libraries require reservations. Please check our College Libraries page for details about the library you plan to visit.

Support Students Impacted by Coronavirus Crisis Donate Now

CUNY libraries statistics 2019-2020 (Archive)

ACRL Library Collections

Library Collections

See ACRL instructions (pp. 9-15)

Question Explanation

40 Books [title count] (column A physical)

Use Table 1. This is a print title count.

40 Books [title count] (column B digital/electronic)

See Tab 2 for instructions for retrieving an e-book title count using Alma Analytics.

40a Books [volume count] (column A physical)

Use Tab 3 for instructions for retrieving a volume count using Alma Analytics.  Add to this number a count of any volumes, including bound serials, that do not have an item record.

41 Databases (column B digital/electronic)

Count CUNY and locally licensed databases, both bibliographic and full text, on your A-Z list.

  • Include e-book collections
  • Include NOVELNYdatabases.
  • Include databases of open access book and journals if you link to them on your AZ list and they are discoverable through OneSearch (e.g.Directory of Open Access Journals, PLoS)

DO NOT include individual titles such as the NYTimes digital or the Chronicle of Higher Education; count those as part of 43B.

42a Media (column A physical)

Use Table 4, physical media, which now includes non-serial microforms.

Include maps here.

42b Media (column B digital/electronic)

Table 5 is NOT a complete list. It includes links to vendor websites which list  title counts for streaming media collections. If yours isn't listed, please reach out to the vendor.

Sum up title counts for collections your campus subscribes to, found on the ERAC survey. 

  • Only include titles that have been purchased or leased by the library. 
  • Do not include full title count for Kanopy or other PDA/DDA collections--only count titles for which a lease has been triggered.
  • For audio collections, do not count tracks, count titles only.
43a Serials titles (column A physical)

Use Tab 6, which reflects serial titles, including microforms and a count of ceased titles. 

43b Serials titles (column B digital/electronic)

Use See Tab 7 for instructions for retrieving an e-book title count using Alma Analytics., The count includes open access titles searchable through OneSearch. 

44 Total (physical)  Calculated sum of 40, 42 & 43

44 Total (electronic)  Calculated sum of 40, 41, 42 & 43

45 External Contributions from Consortia/Networks 

45a  (physical) please check box for NA/UA

45b (digital electronic) Report your campus total from Table 8 External Expenditures. 

Total print monograph bib records in Aleph (title count) to answer ACRL Q40 physical

These numbers were compiled using the following CCL in Aleph: 

wow=xx and wfm=(bk or mu) not wpd=(c or h) not wfs=m not wst=suppressed or circ [title count]

 
College Number of records
CUNY-wide records (AL) n/a
Baruch (BB) 283,340
Brooklyn (BC) 686,802
BMCC (BM) 86,975
Bronx (BX) 66,071
CITY (CC) + DSI (DS) + SPH (PH) 734,547
CUNY LAW (CL) 24,636 
Graduate Center (GC) 213,612 
Journalism (GJ) 3,664 
Hostos (HO) 52,482 
Hunter (HC) + Centro (CP) 437,804
John Jay (JJ) 183,086 
Kingsborough (KB) 157,488 
Lehman (LE) 323,246
LaGuardia (LG) 88,995 
Medgar Evers (ME) 98,657
Guttman (NC) 2.044
City Tech (NY) 104,681
Queensborough (QB) 110,594
Queens (QC) 636,226
CSI (SI) 175,538
York (YC) 148,875
 

Searches run: July 2020

To retrieve the number of e-books for your campus.

Open this report in Alma analytics, 40 Column B. Digital/Electronic Books (include government documents) 43 Column B Digital/Electronic Serials. 

Here is the path in Alma Analytics:

/shared/Community/Reports/Consortia/CUNY/ACRL IPEDS AL/Shortcut to 43 Column B. Digital\/Electronic Serials 

Watch this video to help you navigate to this report in Alma Analytics

Find your campus numbers for e-books and adjust as you wish (you will probably want to remove the Internet Archives).

Next add this number to total e-books from the NZ: 882,000  (as of 12/16/20, see screen shot below to see how we got this number)

The total of your IZ e-books and the NZ e-books is your answer for Q40 electronic books.

Search in Alma : Electronic titles where resource type equals book digital or book electronic or or atlas electronic or notated music electronic

In Alma, go to Analytics, Design analytics, Catalog, Community, Consortia, CUNY and open this report:

shared/Community/Reports/Consortia/CUNY
ACRL IPEDS Q40a Volume Count

Watch this video to help you navigate to this report in Alma Analytics

Report the Grand Total

If your campus prefers a different method of tracking physical volumes, please report this number instead.

Physical Media bib counts (includes microforms)

College

Physical Media

 

Non-Serial

Microforms

  

Microform collection codes

Total

(report this number for Q42a )

Baruch (BB) 2174 7158 FILM 9,332
Brooklyn (BC) 22,386 31,769 MF; FMP; MICRO; MFC; MFI    54,155
BMCC (BM 2,242 NA? 2,242
Bronx CC (BX) 2,104 4 FICHE, FILM 2,108
City + DSI + SPH (CC or DS or PH) 21,355 5229 MFILM, MICRO, DOCFC, DOCFL, DOCCH 26,584
Law (CL) 173 0 NA? 173
Grad (GC) 2,470 1,325

MICE, MIFE

RMIC,

3,795
Journalism (GJ) 95 0 NA? 95
Hostos (HO) 1943 0 NA 1943
Hunter + Centro (HC or CP) 8126 123 MICRO (FOR EACH) 8249
John Jay (JJ) 4,579 3974 FICH, FILM, SPMIC 8,553
Kingsborough (KB) 2,135 0 PEMIC 2,135
Lehman (LE) 3,410 342 MICRO, EDMIC 3,752
LaGuardia (LG) 4,286 0 NA 4,286
Medgar (ME) 6,977 0? NA 6,977
Guttman (NC) 170 0 NA 170
City Tech (NY) 4,745 8 MICRO 4,753
Queensborough (QB) 1,763 3 MICRO 1,763
Queens (QC) 24,250 37,907 DFICHE, 1RFICHE, CARD, FICHE, FILM, PFICH, PFILM, PPRIN  62,157
CSI (SI) 3270 210 MF, FICHE 3480
YORK (YC) 180 9 MICRO 189

wow=xx and wpd=(a or d or f or g or k or m or s or v) not WST=SUPPRESSED plus a count of microform based on collection codes each campus provided: 

For example: (wow=xx and wcl=mfilm or micro or docch or docfc not wfm=se not wpd=h) or (wow=xx and wpd=h not wcl=mfilm or micro or docch or docfc not wfm=se) not wst=suppressed   

[(non-serial non-microform bibs with microform holdings) + (non-serial microform bibs with non-microform holding)]

*Excludes suppressed bibs -- If you wish to include them, use the CCL search above minus the "not wst=suppressed"

*As of July 2020

Title counts for streaming some media collections listed on ERAC survey 2019-20.  Please also include streaming media collections not included here if you subscribe.

Alexander Street Press:  Download "bibliography" for each collection to get a list of titles or use the number found in the brochure etc. :A complete list of audio and video collections can be found here: http://alexanderstreet.com/AZtextlist. (Video collection only: http://alexanderstreet.com/allVideoTextLis)

DRAM:  detailed here: http://www.dramonline.org/page/collection-development

Films on Demand -- this page lists title counts for different academic collections.

Kanopy:  If using PDA/DDA, only include titles you have licensed

Naxos Music Library: 157,916-- found here: https://www.naxosmusiclibrary.com/home.asp

Serial records in Aleph: ​wow=xx and wfm=se not wpd=c not wst=suppressed

College

Print serials
Baruch (BB) 6,182
Brooklyn (BC) 19,057
BMCC (BM) 422
Bronx (BX) 548
City (CC) + DSI (DS) + SPH (PH) 21,883
Law (CL) 762
Grad (GC) 2,060
Journalism (GJ) 99
Hostos (HO) 172
Hunter (HC) + Centro (CP) 3,748
John Jay (JJ) 7,581
Kingsborough (KB) 1,702
Lehman (LE) 7,357
LaGuardia (LG) 1,104
Medgar (ME) 1,026
Guttman (NC) 29
City Tech (NY) 1,458
Queensborough (QB) 1,107
Queens (QC) 14,608
CSI (SI) 1,789
York (YC) 1,108

wow=xx and wfm=se not wpd=c not wst=suppressed

*Command search in Aleph July 2020

*Excludes suppressed bibs

*Includes serial microforms

*Count only once if title is available in both print and microforms.

Open this report in Alma analytics, 40 Column B. Digital/Electronic Books (include government documents) 43 Column B Digital/Electronic Serials. 

Here is the path in Alma Analytics:

/shared/Community/Reports/Consortia/CUNY/ACRL IPEDS AL/Shortcut to 43 Column B. Digital\/Electronic Serials 

Watch this video to help you navigate to this report in Alma Analytics

Find your campus numbers for e-journals and adjust if you wish.

Next add this number to total e-journals from the NZ: 185,000 (as of 12/16/20, see screen shot below to see how we got this number)

The total of your IZ e-journals and the NZ e-journals is your answer for Q43 electronic serials/journals.

Below is a screenshot that shows how we retrieved the NZ number for all campuses: 

 

CAMPUS

This number is for FY 2019-20. It answers Q45b (digital) on the ACRL survey. This number is NOT included in the total for library collection expenditures.

BARUCH COLLEGE
$308,464
BROOKLYN COLLEGE $273,019
CITY COLLEGE
$255,972
HUNTER COLLEGE
$323,652
JOHN JAY COLLEGE
$249,680
LEHMAN COLLEGE
$219,760
MEDGAR EVERS COLLEGE
$128,437
NEW YORK C OF TECH
$245,242
QUEENS COLLEGE
$289,551
STATEN ISLAND COLLEGE
$219,501
YORK COLLEGE
$152,940
GRADUATE SCHOOL
$127,857

 

LAW SCHOOL
$47,896
GRAD SCHOOL OF JOUR
$44,368
PROFESSIONAL STUDIES  
BOROUGH OF MAN CC
$337,000
BRONX CC
$150,000
GUTTMAN CC
$67,041
HOSTOS CC
$121,108
KINGSBORO CC
$203,125
LAGUARDIA CC
$239,704
QUEENSBORO CC
$192,259
 

Questions?

Have a question? Other CUNY Librarians might, too! Post it to the Survey Group listserv!