CUNY libraries statistics 2019-2020 (Archive)

• Question

• Explanation

60. Initial circulation (physical) 

See Table 1.  Include the general and reserves collections

• books
• media
• e-book readers (pre-loaded with books)

Do NOT include

• laptops
• calculators
• peripherals
• renewals

Note: The report in Table 1 counts loans per library.  That means if a Lehman book is borrowed from a Hostos patron via CLICS, Lehman gets a count of one, with no count for Hostos.

60. Circulation (electronic)

• Report usage of digital/electronic titles whether viewed, downloaded, or streamed. 
• If you have access to  COUNTER 5 TR_B1 reports, use this field.
  
• If COUNTER R5 reports are unavailable but COUNTER Release 4 reports are available, skip 60 Column B, leave it blank and answer questions 61 and 62 and provide answers accordingly
• COUNTER 5 metric type for e-books is “unique title requests.”
• For e-media, use IR_M1: Multimedia Item Requests, report metric type for “total_item_requests”
• Include Table 2 (COUNTER 5 Stats:  TR_B1: Book Requests (excluding OA_Gold)
• If the vendor does not use COUNTER, but provides another usage report, report those numbers here.
• Report e-serials usage from Q63 here (update from ACRL 1/26/21)
• Do NOT include titles in a Patron Driven Acquisitions package until it is purchased.
• Do NOT include Institutional Repository usage here
• Do the best you can

61. E-book usage COUNTER BR1 (if available)

• If COUNTER Release 5 reports are unavailable but COUNTER Release 4 reports are available, follow the instructions for questions 61 and 62 and provide answers accordingly
  
• Report all COUNTER BR1 usage numbers you are able to get from e-book vendors. 

62. E-book usage COUNTER BR2 (if available)

• ​Report all COUNTER BR2 usage numbers you are able to get from e-book vendors. 

Here are the ACRL instructions for these questions:

“If COUNTER Release 5 reports are unavailable and if COUNTER Release 4 reports are available, IPEDS suggest that libraries report counts from BR1 and MR1 on line 61 Column B. If BR1 and MR1 statistics are not available, BR2 and MR2 statistics can be used and reported on line 62 Column B. In cases where vendors do not provide COUNTER reports, libraries may report using other means for monitoring digital/electronic circulation/usage (downloads, session views, transaction logs, etc.)”

Additional guidance:

The reported counts for questions 61 and 62 will not be used as a sum to fill in Total Digital/Electronic

Circulation in question 60 Column B."  -- ACRL pp. 16-17

63. E-serials usage

• Count e-journal usage for licensed resources (most of your A-Z list) based upon Project COUNTER JR1 reports. 
• If the vendor does not provide JR1 reports, then use any measure provided or full text downloads or views.
• Do the best you can.  There is no perfect answer.

• Question

• Explanation

64. Transactions

Report transactions (in-person and telephone) as described by ACRL: "Interactions and information contacts that involve knowledge, use, recommendations, interpretation, or instruction ... do not report directional transactions here. A directional transaction is an information contact that facilitates the use of the library and not knowledge, use recommendations, etc." 

If contact is both directional and reference, report as one transaction.

Include: Slack, FaceTime, Zoom, chat, LibAnswers, etc.

65. Consultations

Report consultations as described by ACRL: "Include one-on-one or small group schedule appointments. Include in person or digital. Include appointments with archives or special collections staff."

If separate transactions/consultation counts are not available, report all in line 64.

Include: Slack, FaceTime, Zoom, chat, LibAnswers, etc.

67. Virtual reference services

"... includes email, webform, chat, text messaging, instant messaging or other network-based medium designed to support virtual reference."

Include transactions and consultations

Note: Question 67 is a subset of questions 64 and 65

Include: Slack, FaceTime, Zoom, chat, LibAnswers, etc.

68. Indicate the number of branch and independent libraries

• Exclude the main library.  See ACRL instructions if this applies to your library.

Transactions and consultation interactions are defined as information contacts that involve the knowledge, use, recommendations, interpretation, or instruction in the use of one or more resources by a member of the library staff. The term includes information and referral service.

Include: Slack, FaceTime, Zoom, chat, LibAnswers, etc.

If separate transactions/consultation counts are not available, report all in line 64.

• Question

• Explanation

70. Number of synchronous presentations

• Count the total number of in-person synchronous presentations in Column A
• Count the total number synchronous presentations using digital/electronic formats in Column B
• Count each meeting of a credit class
• Count each one-shot workshop
• Do not count staff training
• Do not count self-paced tutorials
• Web-based presentations are counted as digital/electronic and counted in Column B

71. Total attendance at all synchronous presentations

For multi-session classes, like credit classes, count each person only once regardless of the number of sessions attended if possible/feasible.

• If not tracked separately, count total number of presentations and enter on line 70C 

72. Number of asynchronous presentations

An asynchronous presentation can be defined as a recorded online session, tutorial, video, or other interactive educational module created in a digital/electronic format, and includes web-based presentations such as recorded webinars.

• Count each meeting of a credit class--remove? not in ACRL instructions
• Count presentations created for educational or training purposes
• Do not count handouts or text-based, non-interactive research guides.

73. Total attendance at all asynchronous presentations

For multi-session classes, like credit classes, count each person only once regardless of the number of sessions attended if possible/feasible.

• Count “expected attendance from registration or course enrollment.”Do not count downloads, views, and/or webpage hits.

74B = 70C + 72B

76. Before COVID-19 pandemic, number of hours open during a typical week in an academic session

• Exclude 24-hour unstaffed rooms

ACRL instructions: “The main library was considered physically closed when faculty,students, and campus employees could not enter the building, regardless of access by library staff.

The library could be physically closed but still offered virtual, Wi-Fi, or “curbside” services outside the building.”

CUNY moved to online learning in March 2020, 17 weeks represents the number of weeks from March  15 to  June 30. If the weeks differ for your campus, make adjustments to this number as necessary.

Count “the number of weeks during the fiscal year that the main library implemented limited public occupancy practices for in-person services in the library building in response to the coronavirus pandemic. 

Limited public occupancy practices can include reduced hours open, limits on the number of users inside the physical building, appointment only on-site library use, visitor time limits, closed stacks or meeting rooms, etc.”

CUNY moved to online learning in March 2020.  17 weeks represents the number of weeks from March  15 to  June 30. If the weeks differ for your campus, make adjustments to this number as necessary.

79a. Gate counts from September2019 through February 2020 (if available)

• Report actual number during this period or the number of entries in a “typical week” (see question 76) before the coronavirus pandemic.
• If you are physically unable to access this number, please enter NA/UA.

79b. Before the coronavirus pandemic, gate count in a typical week (if available)

• A typical week is a time that is neither unusually busy nor unusually slow. Make sure it represents the usual hours of operation.
• If you are physically unable to access this number, please enter NA/UA.